Sunday, December 3, 2023


HomeInternational CompetitionsFIFA World CupThe FIFA Best Awards 2022: FIFA announces the winners

The FIFA Best Awards 2022: FIFA announces the winners

FIFA has announced the winners of The Best Awards with the Argentina Men’s team and England Women’s team being prominent among the winners

One of the most important nights of football in a calendar year has once again come around with FIFA announcing the winners of the FIFA Best Awards 2022.

Lionel Messi is ‘officially’ the Best!

Argentina swept the Best awards with three individual wins as Aston Villa goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez won the Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper award. Albiceleste boss Lionel Scaloni won the Best FIFA Men’s Coach award. Finally, Lionel Messi won the coveted Best FIFA Men’s Player award.

This is the second time that the PSG striker has won the award, with the last time being in 2019. Messi has won seven Ballon d’Or trophies. He has also won the Golden Ball in the 2022 World Cup when he was crowned champion with Argentina. Messi competed with teammate Kylian Mbappe and Real Madrid skipper Karim Benzema for the Best Player award.

In women’s football, England led the nominations and the winners. English goalkeeper Mary Earps won the Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper award. England boss Sarina Wiegman won the Best FIFA Women’s Coach award. However, Alexia Putellas from Barcelona won the Best FIFA Women’s Player award. This is Putellas’ second time winning the award as she was also named the Best Player in 2021 as well. England’s Beth Mead and USA’s Alex Morgan were the other nominees.

Here is the full list of the FIFA Best Awards 2022 winners:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player: Lionel Messi (PSG, Argentina)

The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Alexia Putellas (Barcelona, Spain)

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper: Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa, Argentina)

The FIFA Puskas Award: Marcin Oleksy vs Stal Rzeszow

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Lionel Scaloni (Argentina)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Sarina Wiegman (England)

The FIFA Fair Play Award: Luka Luchoshvili (Cremonese)

2022 FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World XI: Christiane Endler, Lucy Bronze, Mapi Leon, Leah Williamson, Wendie Renard, Alexia Putellas, Keira Walsh, Lena Oberdorf, Alex Morgan, Sam Kerr, Beth Mead.

2022 FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World XI: Thibaut Courtois, Achraf Hakimi, Joao Cancelo, Virgil van Dijk, Kevin De Bruyne, Luka Modric, Casemiro, Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Karim Benzema, Erling Haaland.

Ethan Dempsey
Ethan Dempsey
Ethan is a lifelong football fan. When he is not obsessing over the Premier League games, Ethan likes to read fantasy tomes, watch football documentaries and waste hours upon hours on video games.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts