Monday, December 4, 2023


HomeMLSAtalanta's Giorgos Giakoumakis wins MLS Newcomer of the Year ahead of Ballon...

Atalanta’s Giorgos Giakoumakis wins MLS Newcomer of the Year ahead of Ballon d’Or winner

Giorgos Giakoumakis, Atlanta United’s marquee 2023 signing from Scottish giants Celtic, has received the MLS Newcomer of the Year award, surpassing fellow finalists Lionel Messi and Eduard Lowen.

The 28-year-old Giorgos Giakoumakis had an outstanding campaign for the Five Stripes and earned this recognition.

The award’s voters, comprised of credentialed media, current active players, and MLS coaches, technical directors, and general managers, submitted their ballots in October, with Giakoumakis receiving the most votes in this category.

Atlanta United’s Giorgos Giakoumakis has won the MLS Newcomer of the Year, making Atlanta United the first team to win the award in consecutive years. Thiago Almada received the honor in 2022. Atlanta United has also become the second club alongside the Seattle Sounders to have three players win the award. Miguel Almiron was the recipient in 2019.

Giorgos Giakoumakis won the award for his outstanding performance in a season where he finished tied for second in goals scored during the regular season with a total of 17.

When the finalists were revealed, Lionel Messi’s inclusion in the three-man shortlist was met with surprise and questions from voters, given that Messi had only played in six regular season games.

Ethan Dempsey
Ethan Dempsey
Ethan is a lifelong football fan. When he is not obsessing over the Premier League games, Ethan likes to read fantasy tomes, watch football documentaries and waste hours upon hours on video games.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts