Thursday, February 29, 2024


HomeChampions LeagueBallon d'Or 2023 nominees announced: Messi, Haaland lead the way as Ronaldo...

Ballon d’Or 2023 nominees announced: Messi, Haaland lead the way as Ronaldo and Neymar miss out

France Football magazine has revealed the shortlist for the 2023 Ballon d’Or, with Lionel Messi and Erling Haaland favorites to win the award.

France Football magazine announced the 2023 Men’s Ballon d’Or nominees, with the world’s best player set to be crowned at an official presentation ceremony at the Chateli Theater in Paris on 30 October.

Lionel Messi is the hot favorite for the prize after guiding Argentina to World Cup glory. Should he win the men’s Ballon d’Or this year, it will mark his eighth time winning the award. Manchester City star Erling Haaland is also in contention to win this award after scoring 52 goals and winning the treble last season.

Check out the full list of nominees below:

  • Yoshko Guardiol
  • Jamal Musiala
  • Andre Onana
  • Karim Benzema
  • Mohamed Salah
  • Bukayo Saka
  • Jude Bellingham
  • Kevin de Bruyne
  • Bernardo Silva
  • Randal Kolo Muani
  • Khvicha Kvaratsheliya
  • Niccolò Barella
  • Emiliano Martinez
  • Ruben Dias
  • Erling Holland
  • Martin Odegaard
  • Ilkay Gundogan
  • Yassine Bounou
  • Julian Alvarez
  • Vinicius Junior
  • Rodri
  • Antoine Griezmann
  • Lionel Messi
  • Lautaro Martinez
  • Robert Lewandowski
  • Kylian Mbappe
  • Luka Modric
  • Viktor Osimhen
  • Harry Kane
  • Kim Min-jae

Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar have been left out of the 30-man shortlist this time around. This is the first time since 2005 that Ronaldo has not been nominated for the Ballon d’Or.

Manchester City leads the way in the nominations for the Ballon d’Or 2023, with seven players making the shortlist for this year’s trophy. There are also four Argentines on the list.

Ballon d’Or 2023 nominees

Nominees for the best under-21 player and the world’s best goalkeeper have also been revealed. The 20 nominees for the Women’s Award were also announced.

Kopa Trophy

Alejandro Balde, Jude Bellingham, Eduardo Camavinga, Gavi, Rasmus Hojlund, Jamal Musiala, Pedri, Xavi Simons, Antonio Silva, Elye Wahi.

Yashin Trophy

Yassine Bounou, Thibaut Courtois, Ederson, Dominik Livakovic, Mike Maignan, Emiliano Martinez, Andre Onana, Aaron Ramsdale, Brice Samba, Marc-Andre Ter Stegen.

Sam Barton
Sam Barton
Sam Barton fell in love with football during the 98 World Cup and has been fascinated by it ever since. The tactical side of the game is what truly inspires him to think, read and write about football, making him the ideal football writer.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts