Sunday, June 16, 2024


HomeInternational CompetitionsUEFA European ChampionshipGrealish and Maguire left out of England's final Euro 2024 squad

Grealish and Maguire left out of England’s final Euro 2024 squad

Manchester City’s Jack Grealish and Manchester United’s Harry Maguire have been left out of England’s final squad for Euro 2024.

On Thursday, England manager Gareth Southgate announced his final 26-man squad for Euro 2024. Jack Grealish, Harry Maguire, James Maddison, Curtis Jones, Jarell Quansah, Jarrad Branthwaite, and James Trafford will all miss this summer’s Euro.

Maguire has been left out due to a calf injury and Southgate preferred Anthony Gordon and Jarrod Bowen to Grealish who only started 10 Premier League games this season. England boss also preferred Crystal Palace duo Adam Wharton and Eberechi Eze to James Maddison and Curtis Jones.

All the players took the news really respectfully. Of course, all players will think they should be in and that’s why they are top players,” Southgate said.

“The fact is we’ve got some players who have been playing extremely well all season in the league and we just feel other players have had stronger seasons, particularly in the last six months or so,” continued Southgate. “I think we saw some fantastic performances the other night that underlined some of that.”

He added: “The attacking areas of the pitch in particular, we’re blessed with a lot of options, all slightly different. Both Madders and Jack give us something slightly different as well. So they’ve been tough calls we’ve gone over and over and over as a group of staff to try to be fair, to get the right rationale.”

The Three Lions will face Serbia, Denmark, and Slovenia in their Euro 2024 group. Their first game is against Serbia on Sunday, June 16.

England’s final 26-player squad for Euro 2024:

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Defenders: Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Man Utd). John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace).

Forwards: Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle). Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa).

Sam Barton
Sam Barton
Sam Barton fell in love with football during the 98 World Cup and has been fascinated by it ever since. The tactical side of the game is what truly inspires him to think, read and write about football, making him the ideal football writer.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts